SETH SENTRY – Rappin’ On a Diet

IT’S THAT TIME AGAIN, WHEN SETH SENTRY COMES TO TOWN. WITH A NEW TOURING DIET OF CURBED DRINKING AND CHANNELING THE AZTECS THROUGH CHIA SEEDS IN HIS CEREAL, SETH ‘SENTRY’ MARTON TELLS RIP NICHOLSON OF A NEW ENERGY HE’S PUTTING INTO HIS SHOWS.

seth_logo_03-01

SETH SENTRY interviewed @ 11:00 AEST – Thursday 22nd January, 2015
For Street Press Australia

Seth “Sentry” Marton has kept himself running a heavy tour schedule over the last few years.

From his return from the SXSW US tour and his flanny appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live, he ran two successful national tours before entering 2014 billed on Bliss N Eso’s Circus Under The Stars tour with Horrorshow and Ceekay Jones, a whirlwind of stages and dates. Most recently, Marton joined Hilltop Hoods, Illy, Thundamentals, Drapht and more at Triple J’s Beat The Drum anniversary party.

“That was great – loved it. It just made me wish I had a crew,” Marton admits. “I mean, I have my DJ, Sizzle, who I love, but when I see some of these rappers with their crews it makes me feel like I wish I had that many friends to call a crew, you know?”

During the lonely life on the road, Marton has been able to finish a new single from an as-yet untitled new album, due later this year.is a nostalgic throwback to his childhood in Burn City’s Sorrento on the Mornington Peninsula.

“It just reflects me being a product of my environment,” Marton admits. “I know that since the last album I have learned a lot more about my music and I’ve become more comfortable in what I’m saying. I feel like this time around this album I’m going to be more the rapper in it.”

“Chia seeds, man. Aztecs used to eat it or some shit. I’m channeling that warrior spirit,”

Time again has come for the seal to get back on stage with a beach ball. “Love it,” says Marton, interjecting his enthusiasm for the upcoming national dates. Although it’s old hat for him, he explains a new regime to sharpen the live game. “I think we’ve kinda fine-tuned it to a point where, because it’s not a novelty, I’m past getting completely wasted before a show and then trashed after a show and waking up like, ‘Where the fuck am I?’ I’ve had far better and more energetic shows as a result. I’m enjoying them more. It’s actually made it more fun and less depressing. When you do a big tour and you get halfway through and shit just turns bleak, man – real dark, real quick. And I don’t have that any more. It’s good.”

A sensible diet accompanies this new regime, introduced to him by his faithful touring partner. “We’re eating well. DJ Sizzle introduced me to a whole lot of foods which I was mega against, but now I don’t hate chia seeds in my breakfast cereal this morning. Chia seeds, man. Aztecs used to eat it or some shit. I’m channelling that warrior spirit,” he laughs.

Or, perhaps more integral to the newly energised sets, as he explains, “We’ve revamped this set, especially for this run. We’ve gone back into the studio with all the old mixes of the EP songs and even some This Was Tomorrow songs and remixed the beats for a live sound so they slam harder.”

Seth_Poster_FINAL.eps

Conversation with Seth Sentry

Hey man, how’s tricks? Christmas and New Years, how was it all?

Very quiet four days off, doing the rounds, family, friends a few nice meals followed by drinks, in that order. I’ve been trying to spend most of my time getting the new album done it’s been hard to really stop and chill and do the holidays, so to speak.

Friday night had you on stage with the Hilltops, Illy, Thundamentals, Drapht – everyone for Beat The Drum. How was that?

That was great. Loved it. It just made me wish I had a crew. I mean I have my DJ, Sizzle who I love but when see some of these rappers with their crews it makes me feel like I wish I had that many friends to call a crew, you know? (laughs).

Well when I was 20 I had enough friends to call a crew, but I’m 32 now

So am I, I’m 32.

Right, at our age we have less friends than we did ten years back. I wonder how rappers-at our age still have a thick crew with them. Who’s interviewing?

Haha exactly. I had friends around to watch the footy a few weeks back and one friend tells me that he’s invited his new mate over. I was like, what I am I supposed to do with someone new here? This is crazy.

Haha. Crews only want a cut anyway, forget that. Keep your mind focused on the game, I say. Is that the same show where I read you got ninja starred in the neck with some sunnies? Did that put you off your game?

Yeah, same show. Although i don’t think he was aiming specifically for me. it would have been awesome if he did, but nah.

I once had a goal for a Big Day Out to get close enough to hit Mike Skinner with a lighter because I can’t stand The Streets.

Haha that’s very apropos because their new album cover has a picture of a lighter on the front.

Last time we spoke you had just came back from the US after winning the SXSW rap battle and doing Jimmy Kimmel. Then you went back for an LL tour. What was that like, being on LL’s tour?

It didn’t happen in the end. Just a lot of hassle really. They were doing a lot of US stops that I have never heard of. The money we were still going to have to fork out wasn’t worth the whole thing. You know, if you want to go about doing a big US tour you kind of want to know the places you’re going to play. It just wasn’t happening the way we thought it would and was not going to be worth it, for us.

Ah well, fuck ‘em you jumped on Bliss N Eso’s tour.

That was great.

So new album is in the works. Got news on that, dates? What’s the theme and how many recordings done?

It’s almost done. Most songs are wrapped. I can’t tell you specific dates as of yet. I hope it will be out later this year, hopefully inside of the next six months. But I feel like this time around this album I’m going to be more the rapper in it.

I know there is the likeness people place on your style to that of a Bob Dylan-folk type rapper.

Well, that is rap. Every rap should have a narrative and most do. The first thing I hear when a song starts is the story. That’s always been my way.

What’s the vibe on this LP as opposed to This Was Tomorrow?

On the last album I had three producers (Styalz Fuego (360), Trials (Funkoars, Drapht) and Matik (Pez, Bliss n Eso)), working on tracks which kinda made it hard to keep it consistent so this time around I’ve got only Styalz Fuego so just the one producer to make it much more cohesive sound, I guess.

So, speaking of new recordings – ‘Run’ is nice, bro. This is based on your upbringing at Sorrento on the Mornington Peninsula, right? You’re getting good at the childhood throwbacks. What sparks that nostalgic thought process when you first put pen to paper?

It’s just being a product of my environment, like we all are and projecting that. I know that since the last album I have grown up a lot more and I’ve learned a lot more about my music and I’ve become more comfortable in what I’m saying.

So, back doing what you do best… Time for the seal to get back on stage with a beach ball. Touring again. This shit’s old hat for you now. How do you keep energised and excited about another round of shows?

Love it. I think we’ve kinda fine-tuned it to a point where, because it’s not a novelty I’m past getting completely wasted before a show and then trashed after a show and waking up like. ‘where the fuck am I?’ It’s a bit more of a job now and we’re a bit more professional with it, you know? So, that’s just made it easier. It’s actually made it more fun and less depressing, because you get that, you know, you ask any musician who, in their 20s, when you do a big tour and you get halfway through and shit just turns bleak, man. Real dark, real quick. And I don’t have that any more. It’s good, we’re eating well. DJ Sizzle introduced me to a whole lot of foods which I was mega against but now I don’t hate chia seeds in my breakfast cereal this morning.

You had what in your cereal?

Chia seeds. Aztecs used to eat it or some shit, I don’t know.

I spoke with Draft and he said the same thing about maintaining a healthy diet on tour.

It’s good, I think it’s good, man. I’ve had far better shows as a result, far more energetic shows. I mean, I’m enjoying them more and I’m aware of what’s going on, it’s not so much of a drunken haze where I’m like, ‘was I good? i dunno.’ Like, I get it and we’re more professional with the shows and we’ve revamped this set, especially after this run. We’ve gone back into the studio with all the old mixes of the EP songs and even some This Was Tomorrow songs and remixed the beats for a live sound so they slam a little bit more which I am really, really excited for.

Is this a chance to go back over stuff you wished you had done a little differently?

Totally yeah. Because what works in your car stereo or on the radio is not necessarily going to slam in a big venue, live. So, we brought out a lot of those little elements that we’re kinda hidden back in the mix and take a lot of stuff that we don’t need, out.

seth Sentry [Feb 2015]

Leave a Reply

