CHOOSE MICS – Freedom of Choice

SIMON “MULA” MULES HAS HAD TO PREP THE LATEST DROP FROM HIS GOLD COAST CREW CHOOSE MICS BETWEEN A RAFT OF OTHER PROJECTS.

image

MULES interviewed @ 09.45 AEST – Thursday 15th March, 2010
For Street Press Australia & Rip2Shredz Press

Words by RIP NICHOLSON

Just as former Gold Coaster M-Phazes drops a killer guest-appearances LP, another curl crashes on the Coast through Choose Mics’ debut, Beggars Can’t Be Choosers. While M-Phazes solicits his skills to whomever dares spit bars over them, Choose Mics comprises of MC Haunts and producer/DJ Simon “Mules” Mula. To compare Mules and M-Phazes is inevitable seeing as both are dropping big sounds, but Mules is trying to be the best Mules can be. Forget ranking the beatsmiths to establish who’s better – he’s not interested.

“I always seem to be compared, because we’re both from the Gold Coast,” Mula admits. “We always go together, you know what I mean. I’ve had people like Bliss N Eso say ‘Oh you’re the new M-Phazes’. I love M’s work and I love working with him, but personally I’m trying to be me.”
And why be the next M-Phazes when he has every right to establish himself as the first Mules – the one and only?

“Yeah exactly man, on Friday night at the Horrorshow gig, some dude came up to me and said ‘Oh! You’re my second favourite producer, M-Phazes is my first’,” laughing it off, Mules shot back, “I’m like, ‘Thanks for ranking me man’.”

If you haven’t peeped what Choose Mics are about, you may be surprised when you rotate this new CD and find a Mike Skinner/Dizzee Rascal tone of raps punched out between Mules’ beat-laden drops. The Gold Coast outfit features the Brommy accent of Birmingham, UK born Haunts. Nevertheless, as Mules explains, the hip hop is home based. Growing up here, Haunts’ rhymes are relatable despite not kicking his high and low, halting vocals – a distinct appeal in our ocker scene.

“The reason why we came together – our musical taste was pretty much the same. When he heard the music I was making it was exactly what he needed to be rapping on,” Mules says of the group’s origins. “Haunts came here originally when he was 12, going through high school here. It was only when he was older he went back to England for a while and came back.”
Tracks like ‘80s Baby’ and ‘Days Of Old’ best explain Haunts’ life down under. “A lot of his time has been spent here, so I believe he expresses where he came up locally.”

Although the new album could arguably become Australia’s next biggest thing, Beggars Can’t Be Choosers saw the pair settling for what they could get in order to record the album, aptly named because as Mules puts it, “being independent, every time we try to do something there’s situations where we can’t do it this or that way, so we’ve had to settle for something and be happy to be here doing it.

“So in the end it became the perfect name for the album as it pretty much summed up how the whole fuckin’ thing came together. Beggars can’t be choosers, so we used what we had and it works perfectly.”

Over twelve months, Beggars… has been carefully worked out in between other projects for Mules, the highly-touted national producer. From Hyjak N Torcha’s latest LP to mixing the Crate Creeps’ mixtape, Syntax’s new album and “an album with a guy from Boston, I keep busy in the meantime”.

On return serve to the comparison, while M-Phazes poises for a move state-side, Mules is firmly dedicated to recording Choose Mics at home, insisting this ain’t another collab, but blood brothers, all of them as one.

“Choose Mics is like my family, with two best friends, my manager Adam and Haunts. I think that we’ve put so much effort, time and money in to it so I hope not. From my end, every day I get up I’m thinking Choose Mics.”

choose-mics-allaussie-hip-hop

Leave a Reply

