RAPH BOOGIE – Le Bump

FOREVER MOVING AND SHAKING IN THE SCENE, PRODUCER, RAPPER, LABEL EXEC AND AUTHOR RAPH BOOGIE TELLS RIP NICHOLSON ABOUT HIS SECOND SOLO LONG-PLAYER LE BUMP.

RAPH BOOGIE interviewed @ 10:00 AEST – Friday 26th March, 2009
For Street Press Australia & Rip2Shredz Press

Words by RIP NICHOLSON

“I knew that I wanted to try and break some new ground with the sound, obviously I couldn’t do this with every song but for the most part I feel like there are no songs like these,” Boogie divulges. “I never really think of the outcome of the song, cause a lot of the time if I try to mold something it doesn’t work out. So I just let it take its course. Because I sat down with the producers, they also have a creative input in the songs, so if they weren’t liking the direction, we would scrap them.”

“With every producer, (we) worked up the ideas from scratch,” he continues. “I made songs with KutMasta Kurt, DJ Spinna and a few with Ransom. All these songs where good but when I really started to zone in on the feel of the record these songs just didn’t sit with the others. This is definitely a bit of a party record.”

Leading track off the album ‘Boogie Bump’ employs Koolism’s Danielsan behind the boards, testing new grounds and outstretching the boundaries of down under hip hop.

“For those who know Danielsan, you will know he is on some crazy shit. I went into this session with something totally different in mind; I was thinking the same tempo but total different rhythm. When Dan started messing with sounds and drums, I just sat back and watched what he came up with. Initially I was like ‘what the hell is this?’ But then I just started writing and stuff. Next thing you know the ‘Boogie Bump’ was happening.

“I’m not trying to change a landscape, I’m just making these songs right now cause that’s what I’m about. What works for some doesn’t for others. In the past I had always put raps to beats, this time round I wanted to try it differently, it all starts with the drums and rhythm. I really enjoyed this process.”

au-0425-95336-front

Leave a Reply

